Skip to Content

South Africa to host 19th Basic Ministerial Climate Change Meeting in Sun City, North West

07 October 2014


South Africa will host the 19th BASIC Ministerial Meeting on Climate Change from the 8th - 10th of October 2014. The BASIC Group of countries is made up of the relevant Minister’s dealing with climate change issues in their respective countries from South Africa, India, China and Brazil.

The two day meeting will provide Ministers an opportunity to discuss important issues relating to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) negotiations and matters pertaining to the Ad hoc Working Group on the Durban Platform for Enhanced Action (ADP) discussion on the new 2015 agreement. The ADP in particular is a forum for negotiation of a protocol, legal instrument, or agreed outcome with legal force under the Convention, applicable to all parties as agreed at the 17th Conference of the Parties of the UNFCCC in Durban in 2011. The discussions will also look at the key issues that have emerged from the negotiations and informal consultations thus far.

The BASIC Ministers have been meeting regularly since Conference of the Parties (COP) Copenhagen to exchange views and evolve a coordinated approach on important negotiating issues.

Expected to attend to represent their countries are, Minister Xie Zhenhua (China), Amb José Antônio Carvalho, (Brazil), South Africa’s Environment Minister, Mrs Edna Molewa and AmbArdash Swaikaa representative from the Ministry of India.

Media briefing details:

Date: Friday, 10 October 2014

Time: 12:30 – 13:30

Venue: The Palace of the Lost City,
             Sun City, North West Province

Media are requested to RSVP by Thursday 10:00 am, 09 October for accreditation and access purposes. Also advise if you will require transport from Pretoria.

To RSVP, contact:

Ms Sithokozile Banele Mabena
Tel: 012 399 9989
Cell: 073 297 9409

For media queries, contact:

Roopa Singh
Cell: 082 225 3076