South Africa hosts the 26th Basic Ministerial Meeting on Climate Change

18 May 2018


South Africa will host the 26th BASIC Ministerial Climate Change Meeting in Durban on 19 and 20 May 2018. The BASIC Group of countries include relevant Ministers dealing with climate change in South Africa, India, China and Brazil.

The Ministers regularly meet twice a year to coordinate their negotiating positions in relations to the climate change negotiations under the United Nations Framework Conventions on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

The 26th BASIC meeting will deliberate on the group’s expectations for the forthcoming 24th Conference of the Parties (COP24) to the UNFCCC which will take place from 3 - 14 December 2018, in Katowice, Poland. It will also serve as a platform to exchange views on the advancement of the Paris Agreement Work Programme, Pre-2020 Implementation, The Talanoa dialogue, Means of Implementation (Finance in particular) and domestic cooperation between BASIC countries.

A media briefing will be convened on completion of the BASIC meeting as per the details below:

Date: Sunday 20 May 2018

Time: 14:00

Venue: Southern Sun Elangeni Hotel, Durban

To RSVP, contact:

Peter Mbelengwa
Cell: 082 611 8197 /

Ernest Mulibana
Cell: 082 263 7372 /

For media query, contact:

Albi Modise
Cell: 083 490 2871