Skip to Content

Ministers of Rural Development and Land Reform and Environmental Affairs to officiate at hand over of Kruger National Park Land Claims Compensation

16 May 2016


The Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform Mr Gugile Nkwinti will hand over financial compensation to communities in respect of various land claims on the Kruger National Park.  Minister Nkwinti will be accompanied by the Minister of Environmental Affairs, Mrs Edna Molewa, and the Chief Executive of SANParks, Mr Fundisile Mketeni.

The event is part of Phase One of the settlement of land claims by communities from Mpumalanga and Limpopo.  The award of financial compensation is in line with the 2008 Cabinet Decision on equitable redress as the approved option for the settlement of the land claim on the Kruger National Park. 

Members of the media are invited to attend.

Date: Friday 20 May 2016 to Saturday 21 May 2016

Time: 06:00 (refreshments will be provided) 

Departure Venue: SANParks Head Office, 643 Leyds Street, Muckleneuk, Pretoria

RSVP: Tuesday, 17 May 2016  Noon (Please note that space is limited)

NB: The Formal Event will happen on 21 May 2016 at Skukuza, Kruger National Park from 11:00 to 13:30.  The main event is preceded by a media briefing.

Herewith a few tips and reminders to the media for the visit:

a) Travel: Departure at 06H00 sharp. Kindly be at SANParks Head Office between 5am and 5.30am, 643 Leyds Street, Muckleneuk, Pretoria. 

b) Clothing: Keep it simple! Flat, closed shoes and casual clothing. Please pack comfortable clothes for the activities. Remember warm clothes for the evening as it can get cold.

c) Luggage:  One piece of luggage.  This excludes photographic equipment.

d) Meals:  Meals will be provided according to the program.


RSVP DEADLINE:  16 May 2016. 

To RSVP Contact:

Eleanor Momberg
Cell: 083 400 5741


Reynold Thakhuli
C: 073 373 4999


Mr Sibusiso Lubisi
Tel: (012) 312 9395 /
Cell: 076 7931 658


For media inquiries contact:

Ms Pulane Molefe, Commission on Restitution of Land Rights
Tel: (012) 312 9814,
Cell: 071 855 8369 or

Albi Modise, Department of Environmental Affairs,
Cell: 083 490 2871

Reynold Thakhuli, SANParks,
Cell: 072 373 4999 or