Passing of SMU Chancellor Dr Edna Molewa

25 September 2018


The Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) is saddened by the news of the passing away of the Honourable Minister of Environmental Affairs, Dr Edna Molewa, during the morning of 22 September 2018. We concur with the President of South Africa that her passing is a devastating loss to our nation and to the global community. The SMU honours her for her contributions and pioneering leadership in numerous spheres.

The SMU was established on 16 May 2014 as one of three new post-apartheid universities in South Africa with a particular focus on health sciences education. The Honourable Dr Molewa was inaugurated on 17 March 2017 as the first Chancellor of the SMU, and served in this capacity until her untimely passing.

Dr Molewa fully and unconditionally embraced the vision and mission of the institution and contributed immensely during her short term of Office to the stabilisation and development of the SMU. Despite the multiple responsibilities associated with her role in government and beyond, her calling to serve the SMU as Chancellor always found a special place. The SMU owes a great debt of appreciation to our Chancellor for representing the institution with passion and distinction, and for introducing the SMU as a fledgling institution to important national and international networks.

With the Nation, the SMU mourns the passing of Dr Molewa, and herewith conveys its deepest condolences to her family and friends. The University will in due course, after consultation with stakeholders and with due observance of the wishes of the Molewa family and national commemorative events, provide detail of University initiated memorial arrangements.

May the soul of our beloved Chancellor rest in eternal peace.

Issued by the Marketing & Communication

For more details, please contact:

Dr Eric Pule,
Email address

Telephone: 012 521 4563,
Cell: 082 303 5850.

Issued by the Department of Environmental Affairs on behalf of the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU)