Deputy Minister Barbara Thomson to announce winners of Greenest Municipality Competition (GMC)

26 August 2017

The Deputy Minister of Environmental Affairs, Ms Barbara Thomson will announce the winners of the 6h Greenest Municipality Competition (GMC) Awards at an ceremony at the President Hotel, in Bloemfontein on 29 August 2017.

The Greenest Municipality Competition aims to address issues around environmental protection, social upliftment and economic growth, as per the recommendations of the 2006/2007 Cleanest Town Competition (CTC) Report.

Previously known as the Cleanest Town Competition (CTC) and initiated in 2001, the competition focused on good waste management practices. This is a move from a predominantly environmental focus to a sustainable development focus.

The new extended Greenest Municipality Competition Awards consistsof seven elements, namely: Waste Management, Energy Efficiency and Conservation, Water Management, Landscaping, Tree Planting and Beautification, Public Participating and Community Empowerment, Leadership and Institutional Arrangements Presentation.

Media is invited to the event. 


Venue: near Atang Primary School in Freedom Square, Mangaung.
The site coordinates are 29 Deg 10' 14" S, 26 Deg 14' 56" E.
Date: 28 August 2017
Time: 8:00 am

The details of the event are as follows:

Award ceremony

Date: 29 August 2017
Venue: President Hotel, Bloemfontein, 
Time: 08: 00 – 12: 00 am

To confirm your attendance, please contact:

Banele Mabena
Tel: +27 12 399 9989
Cell: +27 73 297 9409

Cell: 073 614 026

For media queries contact:

Albi Modise
Cell: +27 83490 2871